COOL BOOKS.

MAN RAY= + FLOWERS – ANIMALS

2

The secret is unveiled.
The 320 photographs and drawings selected for this publication are among the rarest of Man Ray’s works and will offer up new revelations to even his most devoted admirers. The landscape photographs are dating from the 1920s through the 1950s.
The title of the series was found scrawled across the back of a photograph, and it conveys the indexical nature of this most unusual archive.
Let yourself be amazed…

TOYO ITO

9780714845050

The multi prize TOYO ITO japanese architect is known for creating extreme concept buildings, in which he seeks to fuse the physical and virtual worlds. Among his pasts works the TODS building in Tokyo,
In this new book more than 30 completed projects of his work.
The photographers focused on  14 themes such as “Transparents walls”,”spirals”, “context in cities” and more.

A vintage interview from 2001 from DesignBOOM.com, but it helps to see inside the buildings,,,,

M.

What is the best moment of the day?
I like the evening very much, naturally for working the morning is the best time,
but in the evening the city totally changes and it’s also when you can
go have a drink.

What kind of music do you listen to at the moment?
I don’t listen to music much, classical music if anything at all,
bach or a japanese composer takemitsu toru,
who has had a great infuence on me both in terms of music and
also his writings, he wrote a few books.

What books do you have on your bedside table?
there is nothing.

Do you read architecture and design magazines?
I haven’t seen any recently and when I do look at them
I flip through them quickly.

Where do you get news from?
mostly from the impressions I get from walking around different cities.

I assume you notice how women dress.
do you have any preferences?

I don’t have any particular taste regarding women’s fashion,
but I like to look at women’s fashion because I think that is perhaps
where modern sensibility pays the most attention.

What kind of clothes do you avoid wearing?
suits that most japanese businessmen wear. (laughs)

Do you have any pets?
no.

Where do you work on your designs and projects?
lately I have spent very little time in my office, when I draw or sketch,
the most creative moments are the morning at home
or at the office with my staff.

Who would you like to design something for?
I don’t have any preferences for types of buildings to design,
lets say that lately I would like to design private homes.

Do you discuss or exchange ideas with other architects?
in the past when I was young and I had a lot of free time
I used to have discussions with other architects
who were my contemporaries.
they were complicated discussions, long,
but now I rarely discuss things and
only with a few architects with whom I exchange opinions.

Describe your style, like a good friend of yours would describe it.
often my work is described by others as being light and transparent.

what project has given you the most satisfaction?
the sendai mediateque.
it is a project that I worked on for 6 years,
it was very stimulating.

is there any architect from the past you admire?
there are many, le corbusier, mies van der rohe,
and those with whom I have had direct contact, like arata isozaki
and kiyonori kikutake, whom I worked with.

what current architects do you appreciate?
for example I admire rem koolhaas’ vision of architecture.

architecture as media-clothing…?
I compared man to tarzan.
tarzan in the jungle creates his body and develops it in contact with nature,
in relation to the surrounding environment.
modern man is a sort of tarzan who lives in the world of media,
within a very developed technology.
architecture should be a sort of media-clothing,
which is necessary in order for man to have a relationship
with and integrate himself into the environment.
the idea of media-clothing is a metaphor. (laughs)

Did you always want to become an architect?
in reality I always wanted to be a baseball champ.
I have always been athletic and played baseball.
at a certain point since I hadn’t managed to enter any university,
I had no choice but to sign up for architecture.

On the news broadcast they said that italians are afraid of
unemployment, criminality and pollution.
what are you afraid of regarding the future ?

the thing that worries me the most is that
everyone wears the same things,
eats the same things,
lives in the same environments,
this is what worries me the most.

Leave a Reply

